Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - Institute of Asian and African Studies

Learning Languages

African languages can be studied intensively at the Department of African Studies. Currently these are: Bambara and Hausa (West Africa), (Ki-)Swahili (East Africa) and Afrikaans or Setswana (Southern Africa). The language courses extend minimally over three or four semesters at four weekly hours each.

Furthermore, alternating additional basic language courses and language structure courses are offered (1 to 3 semesters at 2 to 4 weekly hours), e.g. Twi/Akan, Ewe, Fula (West Africa), Khoekhoe, Shona and Taa/ǃXoon (Southern Africa). Detailed information on language teaching at the seminar can be found HERE.


Hausa Foto.png Introducing Hausa
(Video 4:12)

Swahili Foto.png Introducing Swahili
(Video 5:39)

Bambara Video-Foto Introducing Bambara
(Video 6:39)




More information on Setswana


  • New from winter semester 2021/22.


An official language in South Africa